Rich with architectural heritage dating back to the early mining days, Parktown is one of the oldest suburbs in Johannesburg.

Originally established by the Randlords in the 1890s, it is an extensive and diverse suburb which comprises about 300 houses, 750 flats and a number of institutional and business properties. The Parktown Association, which interfaces with a range of statutory and institutional bodies, represents its members and their interests whenever called upon to do so.

Our Association Committee, elected by the community at the AGM every year, performs its work on a voluntary basis. The members meet monthly and put in many hours of service beyond the monthly meetings. A strong Association is able to protect the character and integrity of the suburb. It has a responsibility to listen to the residents’ needs and to communicate them with the City Council, Provincial Heritage Agency and other Governments agencies as required. The Association participates in discussions leading to the determination of annual requirements for Council budgeting via the Ward Councillor and planning input into the Council’s Precinct Plan.

2016 Committee members and Portfolios:

Chairman Allan Sweidan
Vice Chairman Robert Lagrange
Secretary Mary-Anne Savage
Treasurer Trevor Buckland
Institutional and Corporate Relations (including CID) Allan Sweidan and Wynand Dreyer
Planning and Illegal Uses William Gaul
Security Hulme Scholes
Finance Trevor Buckland
Marketing, Communications and Subscriptions Sue Morris
Parktown East Residents Association Constantin Papafotiou
Safe Parktown West Nadine Fourie


The Joint Plans Committee meets every two weeks. If you would like to make a submission or meet with the Committee to discuss your plans, please call:

William Gaul
Tel: 011 726 1720
E-mail: gaul@mweb.co.za